Demolition – Sir John Carling Building, Ottawa ON

It was an exciting Sunday morning in Ottawa today with the demolition of the Sir John Carling Building at the Experimental Farm. Streets were closed off for 300 m in either direction for the 7 am implosion and I was determined to get a nice shot of the action. 

 

I stood at the ready with my Parrot Ar 2.0 quadcopter, counting down the minutes until the blast. I was nervously watching the sky as it began spitting, I knew the rain would at the very least complicate my efforts. The rain remained light so I was able to get up in the air, however it became a bit blustery, making it difficult to hold position. The touchscreen on my phone which I used to control the quadcopter did not react well. This resulted in the  drone sometimes moving in a different direction than I intended, but I had to make due and kept drying the phone and trying to angle it to keep the rain off.

 

It paid off and at the critical moment I was able to get a decent shot of the implosion. I wanted to keep the quadcopter over the park, and away from the intersection, which while closed, would not have been an ideal landing site. Hopefully for the next big event in the city I can get lucky and have some good weather.

Leave a comment