Morning Paddle

Living near the river certainly has its benefits, within a few shorts minutes this morning my boat was on the Rideau River and I was ready to go exploring. I brought my rod along just in case I saw any fishing opportunities that I couldn’t pass up. I decided to head up river to start as the paddle back would be easier if I exhausted myself. I was surprised how generally quiet it was along the river, being so close to major roads and an international airport. Eventually I reached the Black Rapids Locks and to my delight I was almost right under departure path for the airport. Well for the North end of the field which is mostly home to general aviation and flight training. I sat and watched for a few minutes as Diamond DA-20s flew overhead alongside the occasional Cessna 172. With light winds it looked like a good morning for circuits.

Next time out I’ll have to setup my fish finder to help me out. As I drifted back to my launch point I only had one bite, and it felt rather small. The guys I spotted onshore didn’t seem to be having too much luck either, can’t win them all.

I was surprised by the amount of weird looks I got walking through the subdivision pulling my kayak along on its little cart. Considering from my front door to the water is less than 600 meters and I’m at the far end of the subdivision I would expect to see more people out and about near the water. Or at least not as many surprised faces when I’m getting ready to paddle.

I think I need to invest in a waterproof camera, I didn’t want to have my phone out too long for fear of dropping it. Yet there was so much wildlife; herons, turtles, ducks, frogs that I wanted to take pictures of, but didn’t want to lose my new phone. It always surprises me how close nature comes to the city in Ottawa. Now it’s time to tinker and get my improvements ready for next time.

 

Leave a comment