Ribfest Ottawa

I could smell the bbqs as soon as I got off thr bus at the Rideau Centre. With so many vendors and little funds I had to be smart as to how i approached sampling as many ribs as possible. When my friends and I met up I suggested that we each buy ribs from a different vendor so we could swap.

They all agreed to swap and share and we were off. In the mid-afternoon pre-dinner atmosphere there were no lines and fresh ribs a plenty. I admire the patience it takes to slow cook meat as well as I saw today. It was fall off the bone deliciousness, with sweetness, smoke and spices mixing in my mouth. It was glorious and i have decided on a pursuit for this weekend I need more ribs and it’s forecast to be prefect bbqing weather.

When it started ti get busy we headed to see Furious Pete set a world record at eating pulled pork in 6 minutes. You never expect a professional competitive eater to be normal, and Pete was not. He was built and has studied mechanical engineering. Odd resulting career right? I have never seen someone eat as fast or as much as he did. It was completely ridiculous. He inhaled it. I’ve attached a picture. We didn’t have the best view as media had reserved seating.

image

Ribfest is on Sparks Street in Ottawa until the 23rd. Now if you’ll excuse me I have a giant food coma that I need to tend to, and some hockey to watch.

Leave a comment